Buddy Greco – The Classic Years Vol 2


Buddy Greco

The Classic Years Vol 2

Buddy Greco ‘The Classic Years Volume 2’ is a memorial to the lifelong extraordinary talent and achievements as a revolutionary Jazz Musician and crooner. Buddy sadly passed away on the 10th January 2017 at the age of 90.

His peers have called him a singer’s singer and a musician’s musician. He is Internationally recognized year after year as one of the top Jazz pianists and vocalists of our time. He appears at top night clubs, concert halls and symphonies. He has been a guest on every major television show in the United States and throughout the world. By order of Her Majesty, Queen Elizabeth II, Buddy performed at a Command Performance which also featured the Beatles.

He began playing the piano at the age of four. As a child radio personality and gifted pianist, he was a performing veteran by the age of 16 when Benny Goodman ‘discovered’ him. Buddy travelled the world with the Benny Goodman Band for four years as pianist, singer/arranger. Since then, Buddy has sold millions of records and received gold records for hits such as, “Oh Look At Her Ain’t She Pretty,” “The Lady Is A Tramp” and “Around The World”. He recently celebrated the completion of his 65th recorded album and boasts some 100 singles ranging in style from Jazz to Country/Western to modern Pop. A particular favourite is the album he made with the London Symphony Orchestra in which he arranged, conducted and played piano.

Buddy was recently inducted into the Philadelphia Music Alliance’s “Walk of Fame.” He can also be found in the Encyclopaedia Of Great Musicians and the Encyclopaedia of Great Jazz Singers and Musicians.<BR
Buddy has never stopped his relentless drive to stay on top. In 1993 he toured again with the ‘Salute to The Benny Goodman Band,’ this time to headline, star and conduct. The tour encompassed 72 cities drawing capacity crowds and standing ovations.

In between stints at Trump’s Plaza, the Desert Inn, the Cafe Royale and various world tours, Buddy writes music, records albums, scores film and television shows and plays a little golf.


This CD contains classics such as ‘Secret Love’, ‘Fever’ and ‘People Will Say Were In Love’.

Track Listing

  1. Secret Love
  2. Let Me Love You
  3. Too Darn Hot
  4. Come Rain Or Come Shine
  5. O.V.E
  6. Fly Me To the Moon (In Other Words)
  7. Fever
  8. Round Midnight
  9. Day In Day Out
  10. But Beautiful
  11. Around The World
  12. After The Lights Go Down Low
  13. I Wish I Were In Love Again
  14. Just Walk Away
  15. I Love Being Here With You
  16. I’m In Love
  17. Hey There
  18. People Will Say Were In Love
  19. Once In Love With Amy
  20. I’m Gonna Laugh You Out Of My Life
  21. The Surrey With The Fringe On Top
  22. How Long Has This Been Going On?
  23. They Can’t Take That Away From Me
  24. I Didn’t Know What Time It Was
In stock
[vc_row][vc_column][vc_column_text]One of the numbers Lena Horne sang in her triumphant 1981 one-woman show “Lena Horne – The Lady And Her Music” was an obscure Rodgers and Hart song, the wittily risqué “A Lady Must Live”. As a dedicated fan of all things Rodgers & Hart, I wondered at first, how in heaven’s name did Lena Horne find this rare gem.


I should have known better. There may well be a charming bit of business behind her discovery of the song; the means of her introduction to it, however, are far less important than the realisation that Lena Horne knows a good song when she hears one. Whether a song is brought to her attention for her consideration or encountered by her by chance, it is inescapable that she will recognise a song of merit, and if her vocal personality is up to it, she will have a new song to add to her already rich repertoire. And of course the chief beneficiaries are those who are unfamiliar with a forgotten or neglected gem.


So it’s little wonder that, in this album, Lena Horne has chosen her songs with care and in the process has uncovered rarely heard treasures from the pop song masters of the past.

Two of them have music by Harold Arlen, who wrote the melodies – with lyrics by E Y Harburg – Lena sang in “Jamaica”, her Broadway musical first presented in 1957. One is “The Eagle & Me” also with the lyrics by Harburg from the 1944 Broadway hit, “Bloomer Girl”. The song, reflecting a social consciousness of Arlen & Harburg is a joyous paean to freedom. “Sing From My Heart”, with a lyric by Ted Koehler is a swinging come-what-may ballad first sung by Irene Dunne in a 1939 RKO film, “Love Affair”.


Cole Porter, represented on the album by two songs could be the source of many Lena Horne numbers that she could delight her fans with, but for this album she offers his rarely performed “Ours”, in which exotic locales are viewed as retreat for lovers. It’s from the 1936 musical “Red Hot & Blue” the other Porter song is his wonderfully ardent standby “Every Time We Say Goodbye”.


Vernon Duke and Ogden Nash were infrequently paired as songwriters, but when they were, the songwriting craft was in captivating hands. Such is the case for “Roundabout”, lifted from 1946’s short lived “Sweet Bye And Bye”, and inserted into the 1952 Bette Davis musical, “Two’s Company”.


Lena Horne, to be sure, does not disappoint those who welcome choice renditions of songs from the standard repertoire. The likes of the aforementioned “Every Time We Say Goodbye”, “A Fine Romance”,“Look To The Rainbow” and “When I Fall In Love”, fill the bill with unquestioned brilliance


This album also reflects Lena Horne’s willingness to find worthy newcomers, two of which – the lovely ballads “I Wish I’d Met You” and “I Won’t Leave You” featured in her warm duets with Sally Davis and Joe Williams respectively. A third is “Joy”, a bluesy, yet optimistic song featuring a bit of cheerful byplay between Nina and her musicians.


If there is an underlying romantic philosophy in Lena Horne’s program it is one noted by Ettore Stratta, the album’s producer, “Lena”, he explains “wasn’t interested in songs of unrequited love, they reflect the sunnier view of life”.

Indeed, for the listener this album also mirrors Lena Horne’s basic philosophy of performance: the best songs of the past and present, in renditions that make them her own.


More recently, Lena’s “A Fine Romance” was featured in the Australian international smach hit film “Priscilla Queen Of The Desert”.


Unfortunately, Lena Horne passed away on the 9th of May 2010, but her music will stay with us forever.


IRV LICHTMAN, DEPUTY EDITOR, BILLBOARD MAGAZINE[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column][vc_column_text]Track Listing[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column width=”1/2”][vc_column_text]

  1. I Wish I’d Met You
  2. Ours
  3. Every Time We Say Goodbye
  4. A Fine Romance
  5. Roundabout
  6. September Song
  7. Joy
  8. Close Enough For Love
  9. I Won’t Leave You Again
  10. The Eagle And Me
  11. When I Fall In Love
  12. Look To The Rainbow
  13. It Could Happen To You
  14. Sing My Heart


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Buddy Greco – The Classic Years Vol 2”