Smooth And Easy – Various Artists – CDSGP4034


Smooth And Easy

Various Artists

1 Stranger on The Shore
2 Let’s Face the Music and Dance
3 Mona Lisa
4 That Old Black Magic
5 Let It Be
6 Hotel California
7 Thanks For The Memory
8 Theme from ‘Love Story’
9 Apache
10 What A Wonderful World
11 Wonderland By Night
12 Careless Whisper
13 Stranger In Paradise
14 El Nino
15 The Windmills Of Your Mind
16 Street Café
17 Candle In The Wind
18 A Matter Of Time
19 Eternal Flame
20 This Guy’s In Love With You
21 Club Tropicana
1 Melody For Lovers
2 Cavatina
3 What The World Needs Now Is Love
4 Your Song
5 Move On
6 Holiday For Strings
7 The Shadow Of your Smile
8 Rise
9 The Summer Of ’42
10 Easy To Love
11 Diane
12 Aria
13 As I Love You
14 Spanish Eyes
15 Soft Lights And Sweet Music
16 Bilitis
17 Speak Softly Love
18 My Heart Will Go On
19 Three Coins In A Fountain
20 Somethin’ Stupid
1 Lyin’ Eyes
2 Love Is A Many Splendoured Thing
3 Long Ago And Far Away
4 Cherry Pink And Apple Blossom White
5 Yesterday
6 I Can’t Tell You Why
7 Have You Ever Loved A Woman
8 I Still See You (Theme From The Go Between)
9 September in the Rain
10 Moon River
11 Lara’s Theme
12 Swedish Rhapsody
13 Lay Lady Lay
14 On The Street Where You Live
15 Jesus To A Child
16 La Vie En Rose
17 Cloudy Skies
18 Many Rivers To Cross
19 Chariots Of Fire
20 Down The River
1 April In Portugal
2 How Deep Is Your Love
3 Isn’t She Lovely
4 Nights in White Satin
5 Left With A Broken Heart
6 G&T Blues
7 A Man And A Woman
8 Love Letters
9 Take It To The Limit
10 Feelings
11 Charmaine
12 Collins Meadow
13 Hey!
14 The Way You Look Tonight
15 Everything I Do I Do For You
16 The Song From “Moulin Rouge”
17 Ocean Melody
18 I Can’t Believe that You’re in Love with Me
19 Two Sleepy People
20 Green Onions
In stock

-Th[vc_row][vc_column][vc_column_text]One of the numbers Lena Horne sang in her triumphant 1981 one-woman show “Lena Horne – The Lady And Her Music” was an obscure Rodgers and Hart song, the wittily risqué “A Lady Must Live”. As a dedicated fan of all things Rodgers & Hart, I wondered at first, how in heaven’s name did Lena Horne find this rare gem.


I should have known better. There may well be a charming bit of business behind her discovery of the song; the means of her introduction to it, however, are far less important than the realisation that Lena Horne knows a good song when she hears one. Whether a song is brought to her attention for her consideration or encountered by her by chance, it is inescapable that she will recognise a song of merit, and if her vocal personality is up to it, she will have a new song to add to her already rich repertoire. And of course the chief beneficiaries are those who are unfamiliar with a forgotten or neglected gem.


So it’s little wonder that, in this album, Lena Horne has chosen her songs with care and in the process has uncovered rarely heard treasures from the pop song masters of the past.

Two of them have music by Harold Arlen, who wrote the melodies – with lyrics by E Y Harburg – Lena sang in “Jamaica”, her Broadway musical first presented in 1957. One is “The Eagle & Me” also with the lyrics by Harburg from the 1944 Broadway hit, “Bloomer Girl”. The song, reflecting a social consciousness of Arlen & Harburg is a joyous paean to freedom. “Sing From My Heart”, with a lyric by Ted Koehler is a swinging come-what-may ballad first sung by Irene Dunne in a 1939 RKO film, “Love Affair”.


Cole Porter, represented on the album by two songs could be the source of many Lena Horne numbers that she could delight her fans with, but for this album she offers his rarely performed “Ours”, in which exotic locales are viewed as retreat for lovers. It’s from the 1936 musical “Red Hot & Blue” the other Porter song is his wonderfully ardent standby “Every Time We Say Goodbye”.


Vernon Duke and Ogden Nash were infrequently paired as songwriters, but when they were, the songwriting craft was in captivating hands. Such is the case for “Roundabout”, lifted from 1946’s short lived “Sweet Bye And Bye”, and inserted into the 1952 Bette Davis musical, “Two’s Company”.


Lena Horne, to be sure, does not disappoint those who welcome choice renditions of songs from the standard repertoire. The likes of the aforementioned “Every Time We Say Goodbye”, “A Fine Romance”,“Look To The Rainbow” and “When I Fall In Love”, fill the bill with unquestioned brilliance


This album also reflects Lena Horne’s willingness to find worthy newcomers, two of which – the lovely ballads “I Wish I’d Met You” and “I Won’t Leave You” featured in her warm duets with Sally Davis and Joe Williams respectively. A third is “Joy”, a bluesy, yet optimistic song featuring a bit of cheerful byplay between Nina and her musicians.


If there is an underlying romantic philosophy in Lena Horne’s program it is one noted by Ettore Stratta, the album’s producer, “Lena”, he explains “wasn’t interested in songs of unrequited love, they reflect the sunnier view of life”.

Indeed, for the listener this album also mirrors Lena Horne’s basic philosophy of performance: the best songs of the past and present, in renditions that make them her own.


More recently, Lena’s “A Fine Romance” was featured in the Australian international smach hit film “Priscilla Queen Of The Desert”.


Unfortunately, Lena Horne passed away on the 9th of May 2010, but her music will stay with us forever.


IRV LICHTMAN, DEPUTY EDITOR, BILLBOARD MAGAZINE[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column][vc_column_text]Track Listing[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column width=”1/2”][vc_column_text]

  1. I Wish I’d Met You
  2. Ours
  3. Every Time We Say Goodbye
  4. A Fine Romance
  5. Roundabout
  6. September Song
  7. Joy
  8. Close Enough For Love
  9. I Won’t Leave You Again
  10. The Eagle And Me
  11. When I Fall In Love
  12. Look To The Rainbow
  13. It Could Happen To You
  14. Sing My Heart


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Smooth And Easy – Various Artists – CDSGP4034”